Arrow External Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Enlarge Contact

Grand Hall News

May 16, 2023

More of a district match doesn't get any better than this: Germany's best supermarket honored in the Grand Hall.

Food retailers from all over Germany had applied, and the result was a real home game for the region: An EDEKA center in Duisburg was now honored as one of the four best national supermarkets in the Grand Hall ZOLLVEREIN, Essen. A total of 12 stores were on the shortlist, nominated by customers for their innovative concepts and unusual offers.

A long tradition: The trade magazine Lebensmittel Praxis (LPV) has been presenting the award for three decades. The last three years of these always in the Grand Hall. "We feel very comfortable here," explains Marc Linnig. The project manager of LPV, based in Neuwied, is responsible for organizing trade fairs and events. He does not spare praise for the Grand Hall location, its team and suppliers. "For us, it's like coming home. The girls and guys who have this in hand are just great."

High voltage at the end of the day

Around 450 guests joined in the excitement in the Grand Hall, while the expert jury of trade representatives retreated to the adjacent historic Schalthaus. When the winners (in addition to Duisburg, one Rewe store each in Munich and Berlin and another Edeka store in Brannenburg) were announced in the evening at the climax of an entire day of events, there was no holding back. In an exuberant mood, people congratulated, celebrated, hugged and ate - culinary highlights prepared by star chef Sascha Stemberg, among others.

 

Copyright Photo: Lebensmittel Praxis, Peter Eilers/IngoHilger

On tour with the mobile disco in the 1980s - today a multi-entrepreneur in the event industry

read more

Local patriot through and through: Gerald Pott leads the Grand Hall team

read more

Simply letting go is particularly good for organizers!

read more
How to reach
You can reach us

Grand Hall News

April 17, 2023

The most important event in German tourism: International and glamorous start in the Grand Hall ZOLLVEREIN

Six o'clock in the evening, Zollverein. More than 900 guests, including 100 journalists, from all over the world stream into the Grand Hall. In the best of moods, although a long day lies behind them: Guided tours of the most famous soccer stadiums in the Ruhr region, the Folkwang Museum and, of course, the Zollverein World Heritage Site - just a small excerpt of the program that EMG - Essen Marketing GmbH has put together for the top representatives of the international travel industry and media landscape.

With the glittering evening event in the Grand Hall, the Germany Travel Mart (GTM), the most important networking event of the German travel industry, is officially opened by Essen's Lord Mayor Thomas Kufen. This is followed by live entertainment of which the Ruhr region is justly proud: URBANATIX with their street art acrobatics, dizzying acrobatics by the GOP Varieté and an excerpt from the "Dance Homage to Queen" by the Aalto Music Theater.

"Guests completely surprised"

The Managing Director of Essen Marketing GmbH, Richard Röhrhoff, is enthusiastic: "We have managed to completely surprise the guests." The extraordinary mix of entertainment, information, show and, of course, good food certainly contributed to this. But above all, the atmospheric ambience in the Grand Hall, which invites people to celebrate and network. "We are dealing with an absolute first-class location here," says Röhrhoff. "The Grand Hall team has implemented everything for us to the letter."

On tour with the mobile disco in the 1980s - today a multi-entrepreneur in the event industry

read more

Local patriot through and through: Gerald Pott leads the Grand Hall team

read more

Simply letting go is particularly good for organizers!

read more
How to reach
You can reach us

Grand Hall News

January 26, 2023

The kitchen fair GfM-Trend - arrived at the Grand Hall Zollverein

Günther Ottenbacher has already seen many cities as product manager of the GfM kitchen fair. Every two years he goes to a different exhibition hall, where exclusive manufacturers like Nobilia, Nolte or Decker present the latest kitchen trends. Only this time everything was different. The GfM managers opted for the Ruhr region and thus for an entirely unusual location: around 30 manufacturers and over 400 dealers came to the Grand Hall at the Zollverein World Heritage Site shortly before Christmas.

The visitor was presented with an outstanding picture: exclusive kitchen setups, skilfully interrupted again and again by tasteful retreats such as sofa landscapes, blended charmingly into the industrial backdrop of the hall. At the same time, the association incorporated the club and foyer on the lower level. GfM partners, including Neff, Siemens and Miele, showed the latest in fixtures and technical appliances, framed by massive concrete piles.

"We couldn't have picked a better place for," Ottenbacher expresses his enthusiasm. "We have so many opportunities to exhibit, make contacts and give presentations here." In addition, the Grand Hall with its great service lends itself to celebrating a party including a large buffet after the trade fair days. And then later to spend the night at the Hotel Friends on the grounds of Zollverein. "We have never before booked the same location twice in a row for our trade fair," says Ottenbacher. That's changing now: The reservation for the next GfM Trends has long been fixed - naturally and not hard to guess: 2024 in the Grand Hall.

On tour with the mobile disco in the 1980s - today a multi-entrepreneur in the event industry

read more

Local patriot through and through: Gerald Pott leads the Grand Hall team

read more

Simply letting go is particularly good for organizers!

read more
How to reach
You can reach us

Grand Hall News

November 22 2022

The perfect congress? It's all a question of planning!

Short distances and intensive networking in the Grand Hall

A Tuesday, mid-November 2022, quite a bit going on in the Grand Hall. The technicians are installing everything for sound and vision, and the booth builders have already arrived. Now banners are being put up, signposts are being positioned and large-format signs of the association, whose congress starts the next day, are being hung. It was no coincidence that Carsten Neugrodda, Managing Director of KVD, Europe's largest professional association for decision-makers and talents in service, chose the Grand Hall.

 

The KVD, headquartered in Dorsten, invites visitors to a trade show and congress every year, in 2022 for the first time at the Zollverein World Heritage Site. "We stand for trends and future models. More and more companies are moving away from being pure product providers to a service-based business model." Actually, just like the Grand Hall, he adds. The industrial hall eventually evolved into a full-service event venue, he says. "With the story behind it, the change from history to the future, we bring the theme of the convention even closer to our guests." The KVD will be back next year, that much the managing director can already say. "We experience an unusual location here and a team that we could rely on 100% from the beginning."

 

Uniform design for a better overview

 

Neugrodda points to the uniformly set-up booths. "In consultation with the Grand Hall team, all the booths are roughly the same size and have the same design." This shows off the hall's industrial charm - and visitors have a better overview of the companies presenting themselves. If you look closely, you'll notice cozy little seating areas and bar tables between the individual exhibition areas. And, deliberately somewhat hidden behind old industrial witnesses in the form of compressors, a chill-out coworking area. A smart concept that enables short distances - after all, the KVD Service Congress 2022 is all about networking. This culminates in the networking evening that follows.

 

On the first of two days of the event, around 350 specialists and executives are milling around in the hall, many of whom were already there for breakfast. Behind the scenes, the caterer's team, on site since 7 a.m., is routinely putting the finishing touches on the lunch. Wraps are arranged, salads put together, berries placed on the desserts. Dinner will be taken care of later by the next shift. Speaking of shifts and short distances: Those who don't live in the Ruhr region or simply don't want to drive anymore can stay overnight at "Friends," for example, the neighboring design hotel at Zollverein.

On tour with the mobile disco in the 1980s - today a multi-entrepreneur in the event industry

read more

Local patriot through and through: Gerald Pott leads the Grand Hall team

read more

Simply letting go is particularly good for organizers!

read more
How to reach
You can reach us

Pfeil Extern Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Vergrößern Kontakt

Grand Hall News

16. Mai 2023

Mehr Revier-Match geht nicht: Bester Supermarkt Deutschlands in der Grand Hall ausgezeichnet.

Beworben hatten sich Lebensmittelhändler aus ganz Deutschland, heraus kam ein echtes Revier-Heimspiel: Ein Duisburger EDEKA-Center wurde als einer der vier besten nationalen Supermärkte jetzt in der Grand Hall ZOLLVEREIN, Essen, ausgezeichnet. Insgesamt 12 Märkte waren aufgrund ihrer innovativen Konzepte und ungewöhnlichen Angebote in der näheren Auswahl, nominiert von den Kunden.

Eine lange Tradition: Das Fachmagazin Lebensmittel Praxis (LPV) vergibt die Auszeichnung schon seit drei Jahrzehnten. Die letzten drei Jahre davon immer in der Grand Hall. „Wir fühlen uns hier sehr wohl“, erklärt Marc Linnig. Der Projektleiter des LPV mit Sitz in Neuwied, ist verantwortlich für die Organisation von Messen und Events. Er spart nicht mit Lob für die Location Grand Hall, ihr Team und die Zulieferer. „Es ist für uns, wie nach Hause zu kommen. Die Mädels und Jungs, die das hier in der Hand haben, sind einfach großartig.“

Hochspannung zum Ende des Tages

Rund 450 Gäste fieberten in der Grand Hall mit, während sich die Fachjury aus Handelsvertretern in das angrenzende historische Schalthaus zurückzog. Als zum Höhepunkt eines ganzen Eventtages abends die Sieger (außer Duisburg auch jeweils ein Rewe-Markt in München und Berlin sowie ein weiterer Edeka-Markt in Brannenburg) verkündet wurden, gab es kein Halten mehr. In ausgelassener Stimmung wurde gratuliert, gefeiert, umarmt und gegessen – kulinarische Highlights, zubereitet unter anderen von Sternekoch Sascha Stemberg.

 

Copyright Foto: Lebensmittel Praxis, Peter Eilers/IngoHilger

Mit Vergnügen ins kalte Wasser geworfen: Laurence Böcker fühlt sich auf Anhieb wohl im Team der Grand Hall

zum Beitrag

Innovative Lösungen, Produkte und Dienstleistungen der Service-Branche: Jährlicher KVD Service Congress lädt Mitglieder erneut in die Grand Hall ein

zum Beitrag

Events, Messen und Kongresse erfolgreich durchführen?Dann muss einfach alles stimmen!

zum Beitrag
So erreichen
Sie uns

Grand Hall News

17. April 2023

Das bedeutendste Event der deutschen Touristik: Internationaler und glanzvoller Auftakt in der Grand Hall ZOLLVEREIN

Sechs Uhr am Abend, Zollverein. In die Grand Hall strömen über 900 Gäste, davon 100 Journalisten, aus der ganzen Welt. Bestens gelaunt, obwohl ein langer Tag hinter ihnen liegt: Führungen durch die bekanntesten Fußballstadien des Ruhrgebiets, das Museum Folkwang und natürlich über das Weltkulturerbe Zollverein – nur ein kleiner Auszug des Programms, das die EMG – Essen Marketing GmbH für die Top-Vertreter der internationalen Reiseindustrie und Medienlandschaft zusammengestellt hat.

Mit der glanzvollen Abendveranstaltung in der Grand Hall wird der Germany Travel Mart (GTM), das bedeutendste Networking-Event der deutschen Reisebranche, offiziell durch Essens Oberbürgermeister Thomas Kufen eröffnet. Darauf folgt ein Live-Entertainment, auf das das Ruhrgebiet zurecht stolz ist: URBANATIX mit ihrer Streetart-Akrobatik, schwindelerregende Akrobatik des GOP-Varietés und ein Auszug aus der „Tanzhommage an Queen“ des Aalto-Musiktheaters.

„Gäste komplett überrascht“

Der Geschäftsführer der Essen Marketing GmbH, Richard Röhrhoff, ist begeistert: „Wir haben es geschafft, die Gäste komplett zu überraschen.“ Dazu trägt sicher der außergewöhnliche Mix aus Unterhaltung, Information, Show und natürlich gutem Essen bei. Aber vor allem auch das stimmungsvolle Ambiente in der Grand Hall, das zum Feiern und Netzwerken einlädt. „Wir haben es hier mit einer absoluten First-Class-Location zu tun“, so Röhrhoff. „Das Team der Grand Hall hat für uns alles auf den Punkt genau umgesetzt.“

Mit Vergnügen ins kalte Wasser geworfen: Laurence Böcker fühlt sich auf Anhieb wohl im Team der Grand Hall

zum Beitrag

Innovative Lösungen, Produkte und Dienstleistungen der Service-Branche: Jährlicher KVD Service Congress lädt Mitglieder erneut in die Grand Hall ein

zum Beitrag

Events, Messen und Kongresse erfolgreich durchführen?Dann muss einfach alles stimmen!

zum Beitrag
So erreichen
Sie uns

Grand Hall News

26. Januar 2023

Die Küchenmesse GfM-Trend – angekommen in der Grand Hall Zollverein

Schon viele Städte hat Günther Ottenbacher als Produktmanager der GfM-Küchenmesse gesehen. Alle zwei Jahre geht es in eine andere Messehalle, wo exklusive Hersteller wie Nobilia, Nolte oder Decker die neuesten Küchentrends präsentieren. Nur diesmal war alles anders. Die Geschäftsführer der GfM entschieden sich für das Ruhrgebiet und damit für eine ganz und gar ungewöhnliche Location: Rund 30 Hersteller und über 400 Händler kamen kurz vor Weihnachten in die Grand Hall auf dem Welterbe Zollverein.

Dem Besucher bot sich ein überragendes Bild: Exklusive Küchenaufbauten, immer wieder gekonnt unterbrochen durch geschmackvolle Rückzugsmöglichkeiten wie Sofalandschaften, fügten sich charmant in die Industriekulisse der Halle ein. Gleichzeitig bezog der Verband Club und Foyer in der unteren Ebene ein. Partner der GfM, darunter Neff, Siemens und Miele zeigten, umrahmt von massiven Betonpfählen, das Neueste in Sachen Armaturen und technische Geräte.

„Einen besseren Ort für konnten wir gar nicht aussuchen“, äußert sich Ottenbacher begeistert. „Wir haben hier so viele Möglichkeiten auszustellen, Kontakte zu knüpfen und Vorträge zu halten.“ Zudem biete sich die Grand Hall mit ihrem großartigen Service geradezu an, im Anschluss an die Messetage eine Party inklusive großem Buffet zu feiern. Um dann später im Hotel Friends auf dem Gelände von Zollverein zu übernachten. „Wir haben noch nie zuvor zweimal hintereinander dieselbe Location für unsere Messe gebucht“, so Ottenbacher. Das ändert sich jetzt: Die Reservierung für die nächste GfM Trends ist längst festgemacht – natürlich und nicht schwer zu erraten: 2024 in der Grand Hall.

Mit Vergnügen ins kalte Wasser geworfen: Laurence Böcker fühlt sich auf Anhieb wohl im Team der Grand Hall

zum Beitrag

Innovative Lösungen, Produkte und Dienstleistungen der Service-Branche: Jährlicher KVD Service Congress lädt Mitglieder erneut in die Grand Hall ein

zum Beitrag

Events, Messen und Kongresse erfolgreich durchführen?Dann muss einfach alles stimmen!

zum Beitrag
So erreichen
Sie uns

Grand Hall News

22. November 2022

Der perfekte Kongress? Alles eine Frage der Planung!

Kurze Wege und intensives Networking in der Grand Hall

Ein Dienstag, Mitte November 2022, einiges los in der Grand Hall. Die Techniker installieren alles für Bild und Ton, die Messebauer waren schon da. Jetzt werden noch Banner aufgespannt, Wegweiser positioniert und großformatige Schilder des Verbandes, dessen Kongress am nächsten Tag startet, aufgehängt. Nicht zufällig hat sich Carsten Neugrodda, Geschäftsführer von KVD, Europas größtem Berufsverband für Entscheider und Talente im Service, die Grand Hall ausgesucht.

 

Der KVD mit Sitz in Dorsten lädt jedes Jahr zu Messe und Kongress ein, 2022 erstmals auf dem Welterbe Zollverein. „Wir stehen für Trends und Zukunftsmodelle. Immer mehr Unternehmen gehen den Weg vom reinen Produktanbieter zu einem servicebasierten Geschäftsmodell.“ Eigentlich genau wie die Grand Hall, fügt er hinzu. Aus der Industriehalle sei schließlich eine Eventlocation mit Rundumservice entstanden. „Mit der Geschichte dahinter, dem Wandel von der Historie in die Zukunft, bringen wir unseren Gästen das Thema des Kongresses noch näher.“ Der KVD kommt im nächsten Jahr wieder, soviel kann der Geschäftsführer jetzt schon sagen. „Wir erleben hier eine ungewöhnliche Location und ein Team, auf das wir uns von Anfang an zu 100% verlassen konnten.“

 

Einheitliches Design für den besseren Überblick

 

Neugrodda verweist auf die einheitlich aufgestellten Messestände. „In Absprache mit dem Team der Grand Hall haben alle Stände etwa die gleiche Größe und sind in einem Design gehalten.“ So kommt der Industriecharme der Halle zur Geltung – und Besucher haben einen besseren Überblick über die Firmen, die sich präsentieren. Wer genau hinsieht, bemerkt zwischen den einzelnen Ausstellungsflächen gemütliche kleine Sitzgruppen und Stehtische. Und, bewusst etwas versteckt, hinter alten Industriezeugen in Form von Kompressoren, einen chilligen Coworking-Bereich. Ein smartes Konzept, das kurze Wege ermöglicht – schließlich geht es beim KVD Service Congress 2022 vor allem um Networking. Das findet seinen Höhepunkt am darauffolgenden Networking-Abend.

 

Rund 350 Fach- und Führungskräfte tummeln sich am ersten von zwei Veranstaltungstagen in der Halle, viele waren schon zum Frühstück da. Hinter den Kulissen geht das Team des Caterers, seit 7 Uhr morgens vor Ort, routiniert die letzten Feinheiten für den Lunch an. Wraps anrichten, Salate zusammenstellen, Beeren auf den Desserts platzieren. Um das Abendessen kümmert sich später die nächste Schicht. Apropos Schicht und kurze Wege: Wer nicht im Ruhrgebiet wohnt oder einfach nicht mehr fahren möchte, übernachtet zum Beispiel im „Friends“, dem benachbarten Designhotel auf Zollverein.

Mit Vergnügen ins kalte Wasser geworfen: Laurence Böcker fühlt sich auf Anhieb wohl im Team der Grand Hall

zum Beitrag

Innovative Lösungen, Produkte und Dienstleistungen der Service-Branche: Jährlicher KVD Service Congress lädt Mitglieder erneut in die Grand Hall ein

zum Beitrag

Events, Messen und Kongresse erfolgreich durchführen?Dann muss einfach alles stimmen!

zum Beitrag
So erreichen
Sie uns