Arrow External Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Enlarge Contact

Grand Hall News

October 19 2023

Familiar with event management from the ground up:

Whenever possible, Philipp Goschau is "out on the pitch with my team FC Stoppenberg" on Mondays. The event manager takes the time. And he needs the time, because his job often keeps him busy in the evenings and on weekends. His job begins the moment the customer signs the contract with the Grand Hall, and extends from staff appointments and coordination of the trades involved to operational signage and branding.

Traveled the world and further specialized

Philipp Goschau is familiar with events from the ground up. As a trained chef and hotel specialist, he traveled the seas of this world on cruise ships and then worked in the USA as an F&B management trainee. For those who don't know the abbreviation, it stands for Food and Beverage, the largest sector in the hotel and restaurant industry. What followed was distance learning to become a hotel business administrator and finally event management at the Colosseum in Essen and the Metronom Theater in Oberhausen.

Back to the roots in Essen-Stoppenberg

He has now been contributing his experience to the Grand Hall's operations for two years - the decisive step forward for him. "Planning is everything," he says, "that works particularly well here." On the one hand, the Grand Hall's customer base consistently includes large companies and corporations, and on the other, "we have fixed catering and technical partners on whom we can rely 100% at all times." This is of elementary importance for the event manager, because he is also responsible for the complete and meticulously timed processes. And this applies to the set-up and dismantling as well as to the event itself.

The father of two sons does not want to conceal another significant personal advantage of his work at Zollverein: He lives with his family where he also grew up and always returned from his travels: In Essen-Stoppenberg, just a stone's throw away from the World Heritage Site, the Grand Hall and "his soccer field".

Thrown in at the deep end with pleasure: Laurence Böcker immediately feels at home in the Grand Hall team

read more

Innovative solutions, products and services in the service industry: annual KVD Service Congress once again invites members to the Grand Hall

read more

If you want to organize events, trade fairs and congresses successfully, everything has to be just right!

read more
How to reach
You can reach us

Pfeil Extern Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Vergrößern Kontakt

Grand Hall News

19. Oktober 2023

Mit dem Eventmanagement von der Pike auf vertraut:

Wenn es irgendwie geht, ist Philipp Goschau montags „auf‘m Platz zum Kicken mit meiner Mannschaft FC Stoppenberg“. Die Zeit nimmt sich der Eventmanager. Und die Zeit braucht er auch, schließlich ist er beruflich häufig abends und am Wochenende im vollen Einsatz. Sein Job beginnt in dem Augenblick, in dem der Kunde den Vertrag mit der Grand Hall unterschrieben hat, und reicht von der Personalbestellung über die Koordination der beteiligten Gewerke bis zum operativen Signage und Branding.

Die Welt bereist und weiter spezialisiert

Mit Events ist Philipp Goschau von der Pike auf vertraut, bereiste als gelernter Koch und Hotelfachmann die Meere dieser Welt auf Kreuzfahrtschiffen, um dann in den USA als F&B Management Trainee zu arbeiten. Wer die Abkürzung nicht kennt – sie steht für Food und Beverage, Speisen und Getränke, dem meist größten Bereich in Hotelfach und Gastronomie. Was folgte, war das Fernstudium zum Hotelbetriebswirt und schließlich die Veranstaltungsleitung im Essener Colosseum und dem Oberhausener Metronom Theater.

Zurück zu den Wurzeln in Essen-Stoppenberg

Seine Erfahrung bringt er nun seit zwei Jahren in die Abläufe der Grand Hall ein – für ihn der entscheidende Schritt weiter. „Planung ist alles“, meint er, „das funktioniert hier besonders gut.“ Zum einen zählen durchgehend große Unternehmen und Konzerne zum Kundenstamm der Grand Hall, zum anderen „haben wir feste Catering- und Technikpartner, auf die wir uns jederzeit und zu 100% verlassen können“. Elementar wichtig für den Eventmanager, denn unter anderem ist er auch für die kompletten und minutiös durchgetakteten Abläufe verantwortlich. Und die beziehen sich auf den Auf- und Abbau ebenso wie auf die Veranstaltung selbst.

Einen weiteren bedeutenden, persönlichen Vorteil seiner Arbeit auf Zollverein will der Vater von zwei Söhnen nicht verschweigen: Mit seiner Familie wohnt er da, wo er auch aufgewachsen und von seinen Reisen immer wieder hin zurückgekehrt ist: In Essen-Stoppenberg, nur einen Katzensprung von Weltkulturerbe, Grand Hall und „seinem Fußballplatz“ entfernt.

Einfach loslassen können – tut Veranstaltern besonders gut!

zum Beitrag

Mit Vergnügen ins kalte Wasser geworfen: Laurence Böcker fühlt sich auf Anhieb wohl im Team der Grand Hall

zum Beitrag

Innovative Lösungen, Produkte und Dienstleistungen der Service-Branche: Jährlicher KVD Service Congress lädt Mitglieder erneut in die Grand Hall ein

zum Beitrag
So erreichen
Sie uns